Why I admire Tim Tebow and my dad, win or lose!

English: Tim Tebow, a player on the Denver Bro...

Image via Wikipedia

I must admit that I am not a Denver Bronco’s fan. It’s simply not possible since the maternal side of my genetic code comes from San Diego. I live in Phoenix these days but I can’t escape my pedigree and admitting to being a Bronco’s fan when you were born in America’s finest city would be a little like admitting you are rooting for Al Queda.

At least, that’s what San Diego Charger’s fans think.

Fortunately the other half of my genetic code comes from British Columbia, Canada so I can admit to being a Tim Tebow fan. I mean, you just gotta love this guy even though he is wearing the wrong jersey.

There’s a sentiment out there today that Christian men are somehow not “real” men. It’s as if we are expected to be wimp-level hypocrites that cry over sunshine and spilled milkshakes. We are never supposed to be aggressive, or love the sting of battle and we’re certainly never allowed to break wind – at least in public.

But growing up, I learned from my dad that a man could be a Christian and be just as tough as any other logger in the business. My dad didn’t stand for sniveling. He taught me that being as tough as a leather boot was what God expected from a man, but God didn’t approve of meanness either. He taught me to help the guy who’s down, even if he’s an enemy. But most of all he taught me to honor God and give everything I had to what I was doing because you only get one shot at making any kind of difference in this world. “So make it count, son”.

That’s why I admire Tebow. He’s a Christian. And he’s a man. It didn’t matter when his team was down 15 points in the 4th quarter with three minutes to go and no NFL team had ever come back from that kind of a deficit. It didn’t matter because Tebow knew what it meant to throw himself headlong into the cause. Two touchdowns, a two point conversion in under three minutes later and the Broncos took Miami into overtime to win it all.

So, win or lose the next time he plays, Tebow still knows what it means to honor God and give everything he has to what he’s doing.

Just like my dad.

My dad was never a sports fan. In fact, he discouraged all forms of organized sports when I was a kid. He particularly didn’t like football. He just couldn’t understand why someone would voluntarily get beaten nearly half to death fighting over a stupid ball. But he did understand what it meant to stand for what you believe in by your actions, not just words. This is why he’s volunteered to speak in prisons for twenty five years. This is why he’s gone on more than twenty short term mission trips all over the world. This is why he works with the Gideon’s passing out Bibles and believe me – he’s taken his fair share of ridicule, insults and he’s been spit on for passing out those Bible’s too.  Sort of like the flak Tebow has taken for praying.

And me? Well, I’ve never amounted to much in terms of adoring fans and probably never will. But when I suddenly became a single parent with three children all under the age of six, I made up my mind to take care of my kids and follow the Lord instead of bailing out on them and chasing skirts. It sure looked like 4th quarter and 15 points down for me in my darkest hour. But Jesus didn’t pale when he faced the cross. He taught me and my Dad and Tebow what it means to suck it up and dig in, 4th quarter or not. He taught us to what it means to be Christian men, not wimps.

So, my dad is never going to win a Heisman trophy and neither am I. He’s a retired teacher and a part-time tree trimmer. I’m just the pastor of a tiny church you’ve never heard of and I write stories about men of character and determination on Kindle.

But Tebow has to face a crowd that can be adoring one minute and ready to sacrifice him to the lions the next. Next season, the Broncos may win. They may lose. But either way, Tebow’s already proven he’s a man of God and that makes him worthy of respect – win or lose.

I guess, in the end, we can all learn from Tebow and my dad. All of us can make up our minds to stand up for God no matter what the critics say, no matter what the circumstances and we can be men (and women) of character too. So – since I can’t say Go Broncos, I’ll just say “G-B-1”.

“The Far Frigid North” (Kindle price just .99, http://amzn.to/t0TCeA) A hilarious short tale.

“Legend” (Kindle price $1.99, http://amzn.to/uwHATL) A full length, Christian Suspense Thriller.

Someone’s Making a Monkey Out of You” (Kindle price $2.99, hard copy $9.95, http://amzn.to/snubN1). Why Evolution is science FICTION. Foreword by Dr. Duane T. Gish, Vice Presidend emeritus, Institute for Creation Research, Dallas TX.

About Patrick C Marks

The basics are…really basic. I’m a husband, father of 5, teacher, pastor, writer and a musician. I am also…bald...I have a crooked back (had to wear a back brace when I was a kid – ultimate geek with a piece of plastic and aluminum that made me look like a cyborg)...I dye my goatee so I don’t look like I have one foot in the grave and I would do much better if I actually USED the gym membership I pay for. I blog about things that matter to me and I write everything from non-fiction books about Evolution and Creation to short stories about being chased by bears. In short - I don't fit many molds but I can be entertaining.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Why I admire Tim Tebow and my dad, win or lose!

  1. Josiah Marks says:

    As a third gernartion Marks (meaning I still have that gentic gene of Canadain in me somewhere) I have the same view point as my Grandfather and my Father. My Grandpa alway taught me that being a Christain never means being less of a man, it meant more. The hardest road any man can take is standing up for what he believes in. Did the Christain thrown in to the Coliessum renounce their faith when the lions came for them? Ever notice how football stadiums look alot like the roman Coliessum? Hmmmm…although we have football players instead of lions. I love Tim Tebow because he isn’t afraid to stand in front of millions of people who make fun of him and call him names because he believes in the power of prayer. I respect him and he is one of my greatest role models. Go get them Tim, dont let anyone tell you that your less of a man for praying and serving God.

  2. Dan Smith says:

    You know, my dad was a part time farmer and electrician. He cussed and wasn’t a very good example of a Christian, but I get your point. There has to be a way that Christian men don’t have to be wimps. Too many people expect that. I plan on being one that is strong.

  3. Theresa says:

    Nice post. It’s funny, I don’t normally watch football, but this past Sunday (New Year’s Day) I was at my parents’ house and my brother and my husband kept talking about Tebow Time and what an all-around awesome guy he is. So it seemed rather timely to find this post.

    While I was reading this, I kept thinking of the song “Watching YOu” by Rodney Atkins…

  4. Father Dave says:

    It’s a beautiful thing when a man can tell his dad how much he loves and admires him while he’s still alive! So often our ‘masculinity’ precludes any such display of affection. Beautiful! 🙂

  5. Hi,

    Great Blog:

    Love what you say about: “He taught us to what it means to be Christian men, not wimps”.

    Be Blessed.

    Moray

  6. Thanks for sharing your message…indeed dad’s are not perfect but thank God for the dad’s who stay with their family as trainers, teachers, coaches, as a role model to teach their children life skills through experience and wisdom. Kudos to you and your dad for staying the course through the ups and downs…and may God give you the grace, skill, wisdom, and ability to abound the more in achieving your destiny.

  7. Well-written Patrick! You’ve perfectly expressed why Tebow is a Christian worthy of our admiration. He certainly gives us Christian men an example worthy of following.

  8. Thanks for sharing some insight into your life. I agree with you that at times, Christian men have a harder time proving their masculinity to the rest of the world. There’s a fine line between being a strong, authentic man of God – showing your weaknesses, being vulnerable but trusting God both outwardly and inwardly – and a mere wimp.

    Being masculine doesn’t mean you never have moments of weakness. It means you recognize them and reach out for help when you do.

  9. Deanne says:

    Hey Patrick, I was tweeting with you in regard to putting this article in “Tell it on the Mountain” magazine, I may have lost your message 😦 If you are interested you can email me at tellitonthemountain@live.ca Here is the link if you would like to check it out http://issuu.com/tellitonthemountain Be blessed!

Leave a Reply

