Getting things done

I’ve been praying that God will help me line up my priorities a little better. I don’t know about you but I sometimes find I’ve just got more “to do” than time “to do” – know what I mean? It’s easy to find myself spreading too little effort over too many projects.

But there is an opposite problem we sometimes face – and that’s finding there are so many choices that it’s easier to do nothing. Think about it! We look at the “potential” agenda of things we need to do or SHOULD do or even WANT to do – and there is just too much. But we’re afraid to start project “A” because that would mean I can’t do project “B” and what if I SHOULD be working on “B” instead of “A”. Eventually we get on a merry-go-round like this and find it much easier to just put everything off.

Well – I hate to be mean but this second option is just an excuse for laziness. I know that’s harsh but sometimes we’ve got to say things out loud.

I also know this second temptation is almost as great as the first because I’ve given into it too many times.

But I’ve found a simple solution: pray for wisdom and make a list. I’m serious!

When I begin to feel like I just can’t get to everything I quote James 1:5: “If any of you lacks wisdom, let him ask of God, who gives to all liberally and without reproach, and it will be given to him. 6 But let him ask in faith, with no doubting, for he who doubts is like a wave of the sea driven and tossed by the wind. 7 for let not that man suppose he will receive anything from the Lord; 8 he is a double-minded man, unstable in all his ways.

Wisdom is “The practical APPLICATION of KNOWLEDGE”. It means knowing the right course of action and DOING it.

Now let’s think about this for a minute: I’ve got too many projects to do – so which one should I start first? That requires wisdom. And how much time and effort should I spend on one project at the expense of another? Again – this requires wisdom.

So I pray and ask for the wisdom I need – but instead of second guessing what comes to my mind – I JUST DO IT. After I pray I EXPECT God to give me the wisdom I need.

This – by the way – is why I’m working on this blog right now instead of finishing the message for Sunday morning. I’ve got a dozen things that need my attention this morning and it might seem like the blog is not a high priority. But I prayed for wisdom and “put up a blog entry” came to my mind. So I wrote it down on a piece of paper, wrote down 5 or 6 other projects in a numbered list and started with number one. That’s APPLYING the wisdom I just asked for.

Now – I could second guess my “leading” to do this blog but wouldn’t that be doubting the prayer I just made for wisdom??? I don’t want to be like the “wave of the sea, driven and tossed” by insecurity, second guessing and not getting anything done.

Maybe the reason I am being led to write this, right now – is because you needed to read it. Or maybe I needed to write it and remind myself. Either way – this task is now done and I can put it safely behind me for this week.

Hmmm – looks like I’m actually getting something done. Maybe you can use this idea too.

About Patrick C Marks

The basics are…really basic. I’m a husband, father of 5, teacher, pastor, writer and a musician. I am also…bald...I have a crooked back (had to wear a back brace when I was a kid – ultimate geek with a piece of plastic and aluminum that made me look like a cyborg)...I dye my goatee so I don’t look like I have one foot in the grave and I would do much better if I actually USED the gym membership I pay for. I blog about things that matter to me and I write everything from non-fiction books about Evolution and Creation to short stories about being chased by bears. In short - I don't fit many molds but I can be entertaining.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Getting things done

  1. bwebbjr says:

    Some real good teaching and advice Patrick – thanks brother!

    Bernie

  2. Kristen Johnson says:

    So nice to cross things off the list!! 🙂

  3. jhorra says:

    Just wanted to let you know, I needed to read this.

  4. Rebekah says:

    This was a great read this morning Thanks Patrick! I hope he reads this.

Leave a Reply

